Higashiyama District

Related Articles:
Name in Japanese: 東山区
Address: [map]
Access: 1.1 km from Gion-Shijō Station Keihan Main Line (KH39)
1.1 km from Kiyomizu-Gojō Station Keihan Main Line (KH38)
1.3 km from Kawaramachi Station Hankyu Kyoto Main Line (HK86)

The Higashiyama (literally: “East Mountains”) district is one of the 11 official districts, or wards, in Kyoto and the most popular tourist destination within the city. A large number of famous temples, shrines and other UNESCO World Heritage areas are concentrated here, along with the famed Gion district.